The Caroline Herschel Medal 2024

The Caroline Herschel Medal celebrates the longstanding scientific cooperation between Germany and the United Kingdom. Administered by the Royal Astronomical Society (RAS) in collaboration with the German Astronomical Society (Astronomische Gesellschaft, AG), the medal will be given in alternate years to researchers based in the UK and Germany. The first medals were awarded to Prof. Dr. Eva Grebel in 2022 and Prof. Gillian Wright in 2023. This year will honour a woman astronomer working in Germany.

The Medal is awarded to an established researcher for their outstanding contribution to the field of Astrophysics (which may be for research or more broadly in a leadership capacity). All women may apply and we welcome self-nominations.

The nominations will be judged by a panel comprising representatives from the two Societies. For more information and to complete an online application form, please visit 

The deadline for nominations is December 1, 2023. 


Prof. Dr. Stefanie Walch-Gassner
President German Astronomical Society

Dr. Janine Fohlmeister
Press officer German Astronomical Society

Nush Cole
RAS Awards and Grants Officer